Update on Plans for 2012 Baseball Season

Wow. So I just got some amazing news from my fellow Ballhawk in Milwaukee, @BallHawkShawn. I mean, he didn’t like, personally call me or anything to tell me what’s up, I sorta found it on his Twitter feed. If you get a chance you should get yourself a Twitter account and follow him and me! @MLBwayneMLB.

Anyway. In my earlier post about my plans for the 2012 baseball season I mentioned I’d be flying out to Japan, Houston and possibly Los Angeles. I’d be going to Houston and Los Angeles because they’re celebrating their 50th anniversary in the bigs. Well, guess who else is celebrating?

Check this out:

Yeah. That’s a super sweet patch that the RedSox are using next season and THAT particular logo is going on their commemorative baseballs as well. I’m lucky because I live in Seattle and the RedSox will be coming to Safeco Field. Hopefully I can snag some of those baseballs. If not I’ll have to make friends in Boston.

Another team that is shelling out commemorative baseballs are the Baltimore Orioles. They too are coming to Seattle for six games so that will give me the opportunity to snag some of those baseballs as well. Here’s what they’re putting on their baseballs:

This is most doubtingly going to put a kink in my plans this season for sure. Because what I’d like to do is snag these baseballs at the stadium of the team that has them. Sooooo…instead of waiting for the O’s to come to Seattle, I’d like to travel to Baltimore and snag them there. But we will see what happens.

Here is the other team celebrating a milestone:

And of course Houston and Los Angeles, respectively.

So there you have it, folks! A little update on my plans for 2012! And now here’s the links at which you can follow along as I continue my journey to watch baseball in all 30 MLB stadiums!

Follow me on Facebook!  Follow me on Twitter!  Check out my Charity!

6 comments

  1. Mateo Fischer

    Whoa! I didn’t think I had any commemoratives right here on my back lawn. The only ones I had heard about to this point were the Astros and Dodgers. There is a 95% chance I can get all of those baseball you have pictured with my current plan for next season.

    • Wayne

      Todd, yes! I wanted to come out to Boston to see Fenway and get one of the baseballs there. But I think this Japan trip is going to suck most of my baseball funds this year. Plus, I’m planning on going to Minute Maid Park too. So we will see.

    • Wayne

      THe good thing about going to Safeco Field when the Redsox come to town is the crowd still doesn’t get very big. And I can wait until later in the season to see them. So that means the crowd will be even less.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.